Tying Up Loose Ends

I had started painting Battlefront miniatures by working on a German Grenadier platoon, of which I have completed a few bases (see earlier posts). Midway through I changed tack and decided to paint a fresh batch of figures in a Panzergrenadier Platoon. I had decided to do this because my painting style was in a state of flux and I didn’t want the Grenadiers to look too varied and mismatched. After completing a few more painting projects I had decided that my style had settled enough to go about finishing what I had started.

I still remembered what theme that I was going for with the original Grenadier platoon, however I modified it somewhat. I was going for a verge of the forest/woods feel, like the platoon was emerging out into some open terrain. I decided to tone down the amount of woodland debris and scenery that I had originally envisioned in the bases. I didn’t want too much clutter and activity to overwhelm the eye. I want to strike a good balance in a scene to compliment the figures that are portrayed within it.

For this base I played around with some wood effects while trying to not be too excessive in the use of scenery. The rotten log is simply cut from a dowel of balsa wood and carved for texture. I have found that there are so many wonderful scenery products that I want to use them all on every base. As you can see I have restrained myself from using the flowers for easy colour and contrast (I think that they look so good). However I have managed to sneak some handmade mushrooms in there to stay true to the bases that I have previously painted in this platoon. I was also playing around with making bushes and how to make them look complex rather than just a blob of sponge. Not entirely happy with it, but I want to continue to experiment with how to achieve the right effect.

I am very happy with the way the rest of this Grenadier platoon turned out and I’ll be posting the rest in the weeks to come. I hope that you enjoy viewing; feel free to comment and provide feedback.

This entry was posted in Flames of War Painting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tying Up Loose Ends

  1. cameronadam says:

    They look really good. I think your bases capture that edge feeling well. I really like the mushrooms. I like what you said about complexity too. I am planning to do some fall/ardennes themed bases. I am torn about how complex to make them. As you mentioned, there is something to be said for a simple base that really puts them emphasis on the quality of the painting on the figures.

    Have you considered making a mini scenic display base for them? I thought about making one on a picture frame for my infantry platoons to kind of show the full scene a little more.

    I often have the same problem with painting style. I would love to have everything look really uniform but I also don’t want to stagnate as a painter just so things look the same. It is annoying when I refine a technique and then look back on models I’ve already painted. I have two more stands of 101st paratroopers to paint and I am much better at painting skin now and am torn about whether to use my new techniques or to make them match the rest of the platoon.

  2. McJakub says:

    Hi
    I really enjoy your models. I love them. Could you make tutorial how to paint them? I saw tutorial how paint face, but I want know how paint uniform. Could you do this?

    • minutiaeofwar says:

      Hi McJakub,
      thanks for your feedback. I haven’t really thought about doing a tutorial about painting the uniforms as there are a lot of them out there. I guess that I could do this at some point. I am wondering which aspects of painting uniforms are you after, Germans specifically or a general painting guide?

Please feel free to comment or discuss

