Rounds on the Ground II

Firstly, a “Happy New Year” to you.

This Panzer Grenadier’s light mortar squad was a joy to base. I’ve had the idea for this scene in mind for a very long time, in fact it came to me just after I had completed my previous light mortar squad (see Rounds on the Ground). Each element of the piece came together quite easily. Having a clear picture of what I wanted to create helped a great deal. The log I created out of balsa dowel and lots of scalpel work. The mushrooms and mortar shells I sculpted out of green stuff. I think I may do a quick tutorial, in the future, on how to make the mushrooms, it’s fairly straight-forward however it may be of use to someone.

I really like this glass effect, I can’t remember where I picked it up from but I find that it is effective in it’s representation and looks quite striking. And finally the figures themselves have lots of detail and character to them that they have a very animated feel.

I hope that this year brings you even more blessings and good fortune than the last. And of course, thanks for viewing.

This entry was posted in Flames of War Painting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rounds on the Ground II

  1. Gonzo says:

    Your attention to detail is amazing at this scale. I particularly like the eyes and the lens effect. I’m looking forward to more infantry and your Panthers/panzer IVs.

Please feel free to comment or discuss

