The Continued Push

After a herculean last painting session I have completed another platoon of infantry. If you have been tracking my efforts (see the sidebar) you will realise that I have many phases to piece. Breaking the work down in this way has speed up completion time significantly and it allows me to track my progress better. The last phase is always the hardest; it’s at this point when mistakes mean that I have to fix multiple layers of colour. So at this point I have them all sitting nicely on their nails, awaiting final inspection. There is, however, still work left to be completed and that is the basing. Currently I have a number of ideas rolling around my head that fit within the existing theme of a rural area in spring. All of them are exciting and interesting without going over the top.

The basing discussion leads me nicely to this squad of Panzergrenadiers as I was experimenting with the basing complexity. I wanted to build multiple layers of interest using minimalistic scenery materials. Yes, I have used the flowers on this base however I was really trying to work on the application of the grass and vary the complexity. I’m trying to make, what I would consider, a simple base theme and make it have interest and depth with a dose of realism. There are definitely aspects where I feel that I have come close to generating this, however I don’t think that, as a whole, it’s completely convincing. Perhaps it’s the placement and lack of clustering? On the other hand I am really liking the spring theme, the vibrant grasses and abundant water give me lots of colour to work with on the base.

I have recently viewed other work where the bases look very realistic while being a fairly simple scene. I will analyse how the effects were created and attempt to incorporate some elements of this into my upcoming basing work.

Thanks for viewing, let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in Flames of War Painting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Continued Push

  1. Gonzo says:

    Some really good work as usual (even if you considder it slow going!). Your bases are some of the best and most detailed I’ve seen at this scale!

  2. minutiaeofwar says:

    Thank you for your kind words, I have been working on getting better at the whole process. I have been looking at a lot of people’s fantastic work online and gathering ideas and techniques that I want to use in my future pieces.

Please feel free to comment or discuss

